RECEIVED CARD #5: Nippon

日本, Nippon, the land of the rising sun or simply Japan is the origin of this pretty postcrossing card I received from Akane. It’s one of my favorites from all the cards that have dropped into my mailbox so far.

Akane used the most beautiful stamps too; and as always, I’m so jealous, I wish we had stamps like that here in Germany!

Akane enjoys beautiful illustrations but she likes creating her own illustraions even better. Most of all she loves to draw and paint dogs: Akane adores minitaure poodles but her parakeet “Green Tea” is featured in many of her illustrations too.

I visited her website アトリエあかね色 (Akane Color Studio) at akane-iro.net and she is a truly talented artist!  Just look at these…

Aren’t they just cute!!! Here are the links to the galleries on her website that go with the images above. Her site is in Japanese – of course – but any website-translator can help you navigate her page : )

My favourites are her toy poodle illustrations. They are soooo adorable!

Akane’s dream is that someday her illustrations will adorn postcards all over Japan – and beyond its borders as well, if you ask me ; ). I really hope that that will be the case one day.

Cheery good-byes,

Leave a comment

Filed under ART, Music / Books / TV / Web, Postcrossing

Comment

