Gothic + Renaissance + Baroque = Mir Castle

Postcards featuring UNESCO World Heritage sites are very popular among postcrossers. I like them too but do not specifically ask for them in my profile’s text.

However, it was great to find this card from Tanya in my mailbox:

She sent me one featuring an UNESCO World Cultural and Natural Heritage site near her hometown Grodno in Belarus: The Mir Castle complex Mirsky zamok (on the right) and the chapel-tomb of Sviatapolk-Mirskies (on the left).

CLICK HERE to see a short video of Mir castle on belarus.by .

The most interesting fact about the castle is that it combines three different artistic and architectural styles. The construction of the castle in the 16th century had been begun in the Gothic style, and with chaning owners been continued and finished in Renaissance and Baroque style. If I should ever get the chance to travel to Belarus I would certainly have to visit Mir castle too. Some people might say castles are boring but I think they are the most intriguing places.

Oh, how I sometimes whish we only knew how to travel time already!

As you can see, Tanya did not only choose a great postcard but also lovely stamps! It was certainly a very happy day for my mailbox!

Hugs

Leave a comment

Filed under Culture / Literature / Philosophy, Postcrossing

Comment

