HYDRA

“Heracles tried to break free by smashing the monster’s head but as soon as he cut one, two more heads would appear in its place.”

The Hydra is one of my favorite mythological creatures. For some reason I like all the snaky creatures, like dragons, the medusa and of course the Hydra the best. But it’s funny, I think in real life I’d never ever touch a snake or lizard – or maybe I would, I honestly don’t know… I had a ball creating this HYDRA lino-print though 😛

I had the idea when I started to think about a fitting mail art response to the Flood Art I received from BrisChris. At first I wanted to stick to the flood theme but I changed and simplified it to the “water theme”. And, well, since “hydra” is Greek for “water” I created an edition of eleven Hydra lino-prints.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

And since I didn’t want to waste the two proofs I made I added some color to them with felt pens, creating a “Blue Hydra” and a “Red Hydra”.

The blue one I already sent on its way to BrisChris in this envelope:

I can’t wait for her to receive it. The envelope for the Red Hydra is still blank but I already know that I will be sending that one to Julia Winkler who’d sent me the cute belated Valentine greetings card back in February.

I’m really excited about my little Hydra project J

I wish you a great “World Day of Water”

3 Comments

Filed under Lino Prints, Mail Art, Myth / Folklore / Superstitions

3 responses to “HYDRA

  1. Thanks for sharing the your progressive stages of your work here. I like the Hydra a lot! I’m sure your postcard pal will love it. I was a big fan of Greek mythology as well.

  2. Pingback: HYDRA Follow Up: The Red Hydra envelope | The Public Postcard

Comment

