RECEIVED CARD #18: Volcanic eruption

Hey everyone,

Postcrossing is such an amazing project – yes, I know, I’m repeating myself here but I can say it often enough – really! So, Postcrossing is an AMAZING project because it shows you so much of the world without having to leave your home. It allows people of ALL ages to participate: Thus keeping the wonderful world of snail mail alive by passing it on to the e-mail generation of today.

The card I’m sharing with you today was sent to me by 9-year-old Polina from Tomsk in Russia. It traveled 2,863 miles (4,608 km) in 12 days.

After a lot of rummaging through my brain for the precious few remains of my Russian-language-skills from Russian-class in 9th or 10th grade and some thourough online-research I can say that the card is showing the  Karymsky volcano on the Kamchatka peninsula in Russia. It is one of the most active volcanoes in the world. Any native speaker is welcome to correct me if my translation is wrong; my Russian is really terrible. I never really made it past “Меня зовут Сара” and “Я люблю футбол.” – really.

Well, Polina even put her address on the card’s back and I think I’ll send her something in return. Maybe I’ll even get her a postcard here in Vermont instead of Germany. I haven’t decided yet but once I have you’ll surely read about it here on my little blog 😉

Before I keep rambling on about random stuff and bore you aout of your mind, I wish you a  great day and a mailbox full of goodies and NO bills 🙂

.

P.S. I feel like there is so much more that wants to bubble up right now. But stop! Okay. Really. I’m done.

Leave a comment

Filed under Life, Postcrossing

Comment

