RECEIVED CARD #13: 36°C, ice cream and Chinese art

In Germany we are enjoying – or maybe suffering – an incredible hot summer day. In some places it’s as hot as 39°C (102°F). So, I met with a friend at the ice cream parlor in town. And while I devoured a humongous Tiramisu sundae I decided which card to share with you today: This beautiful postcard from Wang Xuan in China.

RECEIVED CARD #13: CN-463199 from Wang Xuan (CHINA); Distance traveled: 4683 miles (7536 km); Days traveled: 32 days.

It features a traditional Chinese painting. Wang Xuan writes on the back of the card that these kind of paintings show mostly landscapes, scenery and animals. I think it’s a truly mesmerizing image. It’s a pity that I don’t know more about the Asian forms of art. Looking at this postcard it seems to be very different from our Western forms of art. I only occasionally try myself in the drawing of Manga-style characters like these…but that’s about it when it comes to “Asian art”.

My Manga characters Naruto-style… oh well 😀

Well, to wrap up this post I have some audio-stimulation for you: The song “Endless Summer” by Oceana; matching the hot weather in Germany right now! I hope you like it 🙂

Have a great sunday!

1 Comment

Filed under ART, Music / Books / TV / Web, Postcrossing

One response to “RECEIVED CARD #13: 36°C, ice cream and Chinese art

  1. Pingback: Your eyes are huge! | The Public Postcard

Comment

