Wild Words: FLAMINGO (Wild Words Series Part 2)

Hi everyone! Happy Monday 😉

This  is the second piece out of my new mail art series “Wild Words”. I sent the FLAMINGO to Rachel Freeman-Irvin from Kansas. She is a wonderful collage artist and I’m the lucky recipient of two of her wonderful flower collages (don’t worry, I’ll show them two you in another post) Pop over to her blog Rachel Freeman Collage Art and take a peek at her work. It’s so pretty.

Well, this is the FLAMINGO I sent to her:

On my way home from work I had put together a much longer post for the FLAMINGO but now I think I should simply let the art speak for itself. I’ve always complained in school when we disected those wonderful works of art into microscopic pieces and pinned a meaning to each little fragment. I often doubt that artists have ever put as much of a message into their works as people try to interpret into them all the time. Sometimes there might be a larger and more complex message and sometimes – or most of the times – art is simply art and should not be burdened with so many words but simply be experienced. Art should make YOU think but you should not tell the artist what to think! I hope my little rant makes any sense to you. It’s just my opinion. What’s yours?

2 Comments

Filed under ART, Mail Art

2 responses to “Wild Words: FLAMINGO (Wild Words Series Part 2)

  1. That flamingo is sooooo cool

  2. Pingback: Flowers from Rachel | The Public Postcard

Comment

