SENT CARD #29: Without A Warning

(#29) DE-1278202 to Karin (THE NETHERLANDS) who studies meteorology in the UK. The postcard traveled 359 miles (577 km) in 10 days.

***

Oblivious and careless I keep on chattering, my mind far away from the immediate danger I’m in.

My driver tightens her grip on the steering wheel and forces the car to stay on track. Strong winds threaten to push it of the road. I don’t notice.

It rains and a thick sheet of water runs down the side windows like a rivulet smoothing the pebbles in its bed. The wipers aren’t making a lick of difference with their frantic back and forth across the windshield. I don’t spare it more than the occasional glance and keep rambling on about trivialities. They may be matters of more importance but right now they mean nothing.

My driver’s eyes dart to the thermometer inserted in the dashboard. The temperature dropped rapidly. Within less than a mile it had dropped by almost ten degrees. My questions are misfit; her answers monosyllabic.

Seemingly thick lightning bolts keep striking the earth around us: I’m still marveling at their beauty while the thunder’s already booming in my ears. I turn around to my driver, finally shutting my stupid mouth. Even my blind eyes are noticing the quiver of fear in the air around her. But even now I still only offer to check the radio stations for any news on this – to me absolutely fascinating and to my driver most worrisome – weather situation.

Hail joined the thick drops of rain. A storm’s raging mere inches from my face while I enjoy the calm of oblivion. There are no news on it. But it doesn’t matter anymore as we can already see the end of it all.

Beyond the edge of the storm’s dark clouds, smiles a friendly bright blue sky. It could’ve been a tornado. It could’ve cost us our lives. It could’ve been our end. And still: I don’t care. Always wrapped up in the blanket of ignorance. An ignorance born out of inexperience.

I feel safe.

Too safe?

* * *

(Just to make sure: The depiction of the situation I was in when I took the picture is slightly exaggerated. It was still pretty freaky and rather dangerous though.)

Leave a comment

Filed under ART, Culture / Literature / Philosophy, Photography, Postcrossing

Comment

