Print me happy

A passion I rediscovered a while back is print making, especially lino-cuts. So it was a pleasant surprise to receive this woodcut print from Michalis Kotsaris:

It only seems to be a piece of a larger print. I wonder what the whole image looks like…
Oh, and just take a quick look at the envelope he sent his print in. Aren’t the stamps wonderful!?

Of course I replied by sending him a print myself. Since Michalis is Greek I took the idiom “bringing owls to Athens” as prompt and started working on an owl-print.
It was a great opportunity for me to give the “Speedball Speedy Carve” I’d bought a try. I’d heard so much good about it from other artists. The blocks are made out of a rather soft rubber which makes it easy to carve your images into it and it doesn’t wear down your tools as fast as linoleum or wood. But I noticed that it’s also easy to become carving-happy when working with it; it’s just so easy. Well, the rubber definitely has one advantage over the linoleum: You can keep the finished rubber-stamp and reuse it over and over again while lino kind of changes its shape once you’ve printed and cleaned it.

Now, this is the final piece of mail art I sent to Michalis. Besides the idiom I also added this nursery rhyme to it:

“A wise old owl lived in an oak

The more he saw the less he spoke

The less he spoke the more he heard.

Why can’t we all be like that wise old bird?”

I made it a trifold, I hope you can see how I folded it. The black kind of swallows the folding lines and edges.

Carving my rubber stamp was a lot of fun and I’ll probably stick with the “Speedy Carve” for smaller stamps. Have you ever used the Speedball rubber blocks? What do you think of it?

2 Comments

Filed under ART, Mail Art, Myth / Folklore / Superstitions

2 responses to “Print me happy

  1. Love your owl carving 🙂 I use SpeedyCarve a lot and really like it. Another carving material I like is manufactured by Stampeaz (www.stampeaz.com) – it has a bit more resistance to it than SpeedyCarve and I prefer it for getting really fine detail. Unfortunately the international shipping makes it expensive, but it’s certainly worth giving it a try.

    • Sarah - The Mailmonster

      Thank you for your comment. I’ll certainly take a look at the Stampeaz… sounds like a better version of the SpeedyCarve. 🙂

Comment

