SENT CARD #14: The bookish postcrosser (a book recommendation)

(#14) DE-1079605 to Kylie (USA)
(The photo on the card shows the summer flora in our backyard that normal people call weedy and that I call pretty; and picture-worthy if nothing else ^^ )

Amidst all postcrossers there are quite a few booklovers, like me and like Kylie from San Francisco, the recipient of my fourteenth postcrossing card. Besides telling her what I did during the day (spending a great time at the barn with the horses), what made me smile that day (the fact that my seventh postcrossing card had arrived 🙂 ) and what I dream to do one day (writing a book), I also included a book recommendation.

My recommendation for her:

The Walk by Richard Paul Evans

The story in a sentence:
After losing everything Alan Christoffersen holds dear and everything he’s ever lived for, he sets out to cross the entire country, from [Seattle in Washington] to Key West, Florida, on foot and essentially find his way back into life.

And why I like this book so much:
Of course it’s a very traumatizing situation for a person to lose everything – and I mean EVERYTHING – it’s also incredibly fascinating to see how it also liberates them to do things they otherwise wouldn’t have been able, wouldn’t have dared or even wanted to do: Like crossing the entire country on foot. And most important of all: “The Walk” let’s the reader hope by showing that there is a road – literally! – that can lead you out of the deepest depths and most depressing situations in life, all you have to do is take the first step and walk.

 

Today I received my parcel from amazon containing the second installement in the series: “Miles To Go”. I’m really looking forward to reading it and will let you know if it’s any good 😛 like the first.

If you’ve also read “The Walk” and maybe “Miles To Go” too, I’d love to hear what you think about it. Feel free to leave me a comment below 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Culture / Literature / Philosophy, Music / Books / TV / Web, Uncategorized

Comment

