RECEIVED CARD #8: If Cinderella were Dutch…

Dear friends,

I know I’m way late with my Sunday-post but I had a good reason for taking my time with it…

This is my good reason reason for being late: The postcard featured in today’s post first had me simply think of clogs, then of a Dutch Cinderella losing a clog and then getting it back from her Dutch Prince Charming… do I need to say more?! – haha - you can see the result for yourself…

… Let me ask you this: Have you ever been to the Netherlands? Or seen their traditional clothing; especially their traditional footwear, the clogs?

No? Yes? Maybe? Can’t remember? …

Well, I have not been to the Netherlands so far…

– Yes, shame on me! I’ll add it to my travelling-wish-list right this minute — hold on a sec…  okay, done! –

BUT I’ve received this amazing card from Jeanne:

It shows the traditional clothing of the Dutch, well to be exact of the people from Volendam, a small town in North Holland. Especially the high pointed bonnet women wear with this traditional costume is recognized as Dutch pretty much anywhere in the world. Many, many postcards feature the bonnet and clogs. Of course they are very popular with tourists visiting the Netherlands but also postcrossers who have never been to the land of the Oranje will do the happy-dance upon finding one of those pretties in their mailbox : ).

Thank you, thank you, thank you Jeanne for this great snippet of Dutch tradition and inspiring me to create some semi-funny art today : )

Oh, I almost forgot to show you the stamps!

Now, thank YOU for stopping by today too!

3 Comments

Filed under ART, Culture / Literature / Philosophy, Postcrossing

3 responses to “RECEIVED CARD #8: If Cinderella were Dutch…

  1. Hahaha… I love it! I am Dutch! But I’m glad we don’t get to wear the traditional clothing! 😉

    • Sarah - The Mailmonster

      Thanks. I bet you are! I wouldn’t wanna run around in a Dirndl, Lederhosen or else all the time either 😀

  2. Pingback: POSTAL SORPRESA EN TU BUZÓN | Taringa Repost

Comment